Skip to content

Where is Morocco

Where is Morocco?

Morocco is an African country and the closest to Europe. Only 8.6 miles ( 14km ) separate Morocco and Spain on the Gibraltar strait. Morocco borders east and south with Algeria and deep South with Mauritania in the Moroccan Western Sahara region.

mapa de marrocos

Morocco has the particularity of being a multi-featured country in matter of geography. Its geographic diversity is amazing and who thinks that whatever you’re about to spot in this country is nothing much than Sahara, well, think again. Take a close look to see how I break up Morocco in its geography:


Of course this opinion can be disputed, and, my BLOG is not a political statement of any kind. If you look closely to the map above you’ll notice how deep Western Sahara goes, making the exact center of the country in Sahara Desert following the Oued Draa to Erfoud in the east.

What I do here is to separate north and south with the Atlas Mountains which actually gives a strange diagonal line separating the country. I do this just to make sure I don’t mix the Mountainous regions which I want to give special attention.

In this personal division you’ll notice how I don’t include Azrou or Ifrane in center Morocco being just a few miles away from Fez for instance, while including other cities lower than Azrou ( but to the west side ) hehe 🙂 I know you’re confused now. The problem here is that the Atlas Mountain Range spreads the country diagonally from northeast southwest. Got it? 🙂

Check out this map below which I changed just to make you quickly understand this division and where exactly the Atlas are located:

mapa de marrocos, mapa das montanhas do atlas

For a more detailed explanation I now try to separate those 5 main areas into sub-regions:


North Interior: Rif Mountains, cities like Chefchaouen, Taounate, Ouazzane, Tetouan and Ksar Kebir.

North Atlantic Coast: All the coast from Ceuta west to Tanger, Asilah, Larache until Rabat.

North Mediterranean Coast: All the coast east of Ceuta passing Al Hoceima, Melillia ( also Spanish territory like Ceuta ), Nador until Saidia in the border with Algeria.


Center Interior: Fez, Taza, Marrakesh and Meknes.

Center Atlantic Coast: Casablanca, El Jadida and Essaouira.


High Atlas: Toubkal, Imilchil, Tamtettoucht, Agoudal, Ait Hani and Telouet.

Mid Atlas: Bou Iblane Mountains, Azrou and Ifrane.

Anti Atlas: Tafroute, Akk, Tata and Igherm


South Urban: Ouarzazate, Errachidia, Tineghir, Kelat M’gouna, Zagora, Erfoud and Rissani.

South Sahara Desert: Erg Chebbi dunes, Merzouga, Tinfou dunes, Mhamid and Chegaga dunes.

South Atlantic Coast: Cities like Agadir, Sidi Ifni and Safi.


All the lower Moroccan region below Tah. The capital of Moroccan Western Sahara is Layoune. Other cities like Boujdour and Dakhla.

One Comment
  1. Joe permalink

    Thanks for your page. I had always assumed Morocco was an arab country. I did not realize it is part of Africa until today. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: